Bio Poems: A great way to introduce yourself

I decided to have my students write Bio Poems on the first day of school this year in order to help them introduce themselves to me and vice versa. Like a “Where I’m From” Poem, this type of poem gives kids a “template” to use as a guide, which will help struggling writers with form. (Allow kids to deviate… they’ll appreciate having poetic license on the first day of school!) However, these poems are a bit simpler than writing a “Where I’m From,” which can be a bit overwhelming for an elementary school student on the first day of school.

This is the one I wrote two years ago when I taught in NYC. I gave this to my students as a touchstone text to help them craft their own Bio Poem.

Stacey
Driven, Generous, Intelligent, Thoughtful
Sibling of no one
Lover of democracy, family and friends
Who feels tired when she doesn’t have her coffee
Who needs to take more vacations
Who gives all she can to her students
Who fears being the target of a pigeon’s droppings
Who would like to see peace in the Middle East
Resident of Manhattan
Shubitz

I changed it slightly now that I live in Rhode Island:

Stacey
Driven, Generous, Intelligent, Thoughtful
Sibling of no one
Lover of democracy, family and friends
Who feels excited about her upcoming wedding
Who needs to get more rest
Who gives all she can to her students
Who fears being the target of a pigeon’s droppings
Who would like to see peace in the Middle East
Who shares stories about her life
Who is excited to be teaching fourth grade
Resident of Providence
Shubitz

I already have the Bio Poems Bulletin Board ready to go: (Marc cut out the letters and put them up for me. Gotta give credit where credit is due.)