Writing Shares

One of my goals as a Writing Teacher this year was to have my students share notebook entries every Tuesday and Wednesday. Unfortunately, it’s not catching on as well as I would have liked. Share sign-ups in my classroom (during Morning Meeting) go as follows:

Monday: Weekend Update
Tuesday: Writer’s Notebook Entries
Wednesday: Writer’s Notebook Entries
Thursday: Free Choice
Friday: Poetry Friday (your own poem or another poet’s)

It’s always three kids per day.

I’ve explained to my class that sharing an entry is like sharing a free choice share, but most haven’t bought into it. Only 1 or 2 (rather than 6) kids sign-up to share an entry each week. I’m a bit perplexed by this and would love suggestions. I’m not ready to abandon this idea yet.

In the meantime, I share an entry I wrote during share time instead. But honestly, I’d rather hear my kids’ writing, than hear myself talk!