Our thinking is evolving

I noticed that Ruth posted her raw thinking earlier today. Let’s just say that there’s a lot of meta-cognition happening for both of us now that the NCTE Conference is over. I think the Session that got both of us thinking the most was the one with Peter H. Johnston, Katie Wood Ray, and Ralph Fletcher since they discussed choice in the Writing Workshop.

I feel lucky to work in a school where choice is still alive in the Writing Workshop. However, I realize that not many teachers have that. Hence, I’m going to be doing some thinking about how to create choice for children when it feels like mandates from on-high are restricting the choice we all wish our students could have. (Independent Writing Projects anyone??? More on that later.)

So Ruth and I will think… then we’ll post… then we’ll think… then we’ll post. Please leave us some comments when you read our posts. We welcome people who agree and disagree with our thinking here at “Two Writing Teachers,” so please comment away!