Thanksgiving: A List Poem


On this day, I am thankful for so many things. I figured I’d create a list poem, with my ideas clustered in stanzas, of what I am thankful for. (I decided not to use ending punctuation for this poem.)

Freedom
Being an American
The right to practice my own religion
Driving where I want, when I want
Reading and watching programmaing
that is not controlled by someone else

Family
My loving parents who would do anything for me
My fiance who I’m so lucky to have in my life
An extended family I’d pick again if given the choice
Memories of grandparents who have passed away

Close Friends
Lori
Carrie
Emily
Jordi
Marcela
Nicole
Stacey
Christina
Rachel
Tiffany
Sherri
Marc
Dan
Amazing human beings
who have stood by me
in the good times,
but more importantly,
in the bad times too

Ruth
Someone I can bounce my ideas off of
Someone who shares my passion for writing
Someone that loves teaching as much as I do
Someone who lives too far away

A career I love
Waking up in the morning
Coming in to 20 amazing souls
I am blessed to be their teacher

Former Students
There are too many to list by name
but they each hold a special place
in my Heart

For all of these things
I am thankful
On this Thanksgiving Day
And every other day of the year