Being inspired by a great picture book…

Today was spent immersing my students in the short fiction genre by reading picture books. Here are the texts my students read and enjoyed either by themselves or with a partner:

Beatrice’s Goat by Paige McBrier
Betty Doll by Patricia Polacco *
Duck and Goose by Tad Hills *
Imagine A Day by Sarah L. Thomsen
Both Knuffle Bunny Books by Mo Willems
Mia’s Story: A Sketchbook of Hopes and Dreams by Michael Foreman
No Dogs Allowed! by Sonia Manzano
Pink and Say by Patricia Polacco *
Satchel Paige: Don’t Look Back by David A. Adler *
The Other Side by Jacqueline Woodson

As for me, I read Jamaica’s Find by Juanita Havill to the class during Read Aloud today since I think it’s an easy to follow story that will be similar to the kind of writing I hope my students will do this month. Tomorrow I plan on reading Mutt Dog by Stephen Michael King to the kids.

* = Not necessarily a book I want my students to adopt as a mentor, but I wanted them to decide what they wanted to read today since inspiration comes from many places.