Stacey’s Slice of Life Story: Day 10

SOLSC Logo

I was chatting with my Mom on my hands-free while driving home from Ceramics Class and the grocery store around 6:00 p.m. this evening when I got beeped. I waited until I was stopped at a traffic light to grab the phone and see who it was. It read my best friend’s name on her mobile phone. Uh oh! This was her first day of maternity leave and she’s already calling me? That can’t be good.

I clicked over and heard her bright voice through the telephone. “I had the baby she said!”

“Oh my Gd,” I replied. She was literally two weeks early. A pang of fear traveled through my body. “Wait and I’ll get off of the other line with my mom!” I exclaimed.

I clicked over and shouted, “I’ve gotta go. Lori had the baby!”

“What did she have?” my mom asked.

“I don’t know. I’ll call you later. Bye!”

“Are you okay?” I asked Lori.

“Yeah, I’m fine,” she replied.

“Are you sure? What happened?”

Lori began telling me that she went into labor last night around midnight. At 10:20ish this morning her second child was born.

“So,” I asked. “What did you have?” (I was so positive she was having a girl.)

“A boy,” she replied.

“Really?!!?!” I exclaimed.

“Yes.”

“What’s his name.”

“Benjamin Cooper.”

(I LOVE THAT NAME!)

Benjamin Cooper.
A healthy baby boy.
A new life was born today… one filled with promise with many people who already love him.
What a glorious day!