Stacey’s Slice of Life Story: Day #24

SOLSC Logo

When I woke up this morning, I got out of bed as usual. I went into our study, flicked on the light above my desk and checked my email. However, once I realized that it was Monday, my heart sank a bit. Today’s March 24th, I thought. It’s been one year since Grandma died.

I immediately changed my status on my Facebook Account from something about being happy about finishing our Family Haggadah to “Stacey is remembering her grandmother who died last year on this day.” When I did that, my eyes welled-up with tears. I miss the woman we affectionately called eBubbey (i.e., the “e” stood for electronic and the word “bubbey” was to say grandma in Yiddush since she was an e-mailing grandmother). This was my Florida Grandma, who learned how to use a computer in 1999. She perused the ‘net daily reading nytimes.com. Further, she emailed me lovely letters, which almost always ended with All my love, Grandma. It’s been a little over a year since I’ve gotten one of those e-mails… and I really miss them.

So much has happened in the year since she’s passed away that I haven’t had the chance to share with her: graduating from T.C., publishing a book with my students, moving to Rhode Island, and getting married. Therefore, no matter what happens during the day today, there’s no way that my Slice of Life for March 24th, 2008 will be about anything other than my beloved eBubbey.