I’m a bit astonished!

I am creating a list of writing partnerships for my students’ Literary Essay Unit of Study based on the texts they’ve selected to examine, from the packet of 11 texts I gave them, for their literary essay. Would you believe that only five of the six texts are represented from the packet?!!? I’m a bit astonished! (Though this makes my job easier, I would have liked to have seen more variety in the texts they chose, but if that’s they connected with five of them on a deeper level, then who am I to stop them from writing about those books!?!?)

The texts they chose to examine are:
Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes
Four Feet, Two Sandals by Karen Lynn Williams and Khadra Mohammad
“My Side of the Storyā€¯ by Adam Bagdasarian
The Meanest Thing to Say by Bill Cosby
The Other Side by Jacqueline Woodson

As for me, I’m writing my literary essay about “Eleven” by Sandra Cisneros.