conferring · friday poetry · mentor texts · poetry

Stacey’s Seventh of Eight Poems

Even if you’re a few days behind, don’t fret. C’mon in and join
A One Week Poetry Challenge




JOY: Five Senses Poem

Originally uploaded by teachergal

I chose to write a poem about the emotion joy. I’m not quite sure if I captured it. I think this poem is still a draft/a work in progress!

As I near the end of this week-long challenge, I feel confident that I have more poems to share with my students. However, I’m not sure that I’ve generated that many poems that I’d feel confident using as mentor poems. I still think that published poets’ poems are markedly better than the stuff I’ve created this week. Nonetheless, they’ll see my struggles, as a poet, through all of these poems/poetic forms, so I am confident that the work I’ve produced will be used during writing conferences in my classroom once we begin our poetry unit of study next month.

5 thoughts on “Stacey’s Seventh of Eight Poems

  1. I think the Poetry Challenge is a great idea, and I think that any personal work shared with students has enormous value–the insight into the writing process is so important, as girlgriot said above. Thanks for sharing this poem!

    Like

  2. I like to share work with my students — I write when they write, and I ususally read when they share their writing. I use published texts, of course, but I think it’s helpful for them to see the process as they try to navigate their way through their own processes.

    Like

  3. I think it’s great to read your process for this poem. I forget sometimes, that I’m keeping up with this challenge and unlike you, I am not teaching full time, and it’s a challenge.
    I think it’s been great to see your prompts and then your piece. I think your modeling as a poet-teacher is inspiring and that is unique.
    I think these a great models.
    Bonnie

    Like

  4. I agree with you about using “published” mentor text…and using a variety is best. I like to do poet studies throughout the school year…along with author studies. But…I am so glad that you did this challenge because it got me back into writing poetry and I think if our students see us give it a go…whether it is bad stuff or good stuff…they will see the possibilities that are out there for them selves. (I keep a copy of every poem my friends decide to publish…and we have a class anthology…using these poems in future years also allows young writers to envision themselves being able to do that same thing….thanks again for the challenge 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.