Read Alouds That Support the Writing Curriculum, IRA Books, & Touchstone Texts

I’ve been working on updating the list of books I’ve read to my kids this year since I think it’s good to keep a list, of sorts. I have the book covers photocopied and hanging from the clotheslines in my classroom, but there’s no substitute for a good list. Here’s a preview of what “the list” looks like on my wiki:

Persuasive Writing

Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin

I Wanna Iguana by Karen Kaufman Orloff

Earrings by Judith Viorst

Literary Essay

The Other Side by Jacqueline Woodson

• “Slower Than The Rest” by Cynthia Rylant

• “My Side of the Story” by Adam Bagdasarian

Four Feet, Two Sandals by Karen Lynn Williams and Khadra Mohammed

The Wednesday Surprise by Eve Bunting

A Chair for My Mother by Vera B. Willaims

Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes

The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch

The Meanest Thing to Say (Little Bill Series) by Bill Cosby

Uncle Peter’s Amazing Chinese Wedding by Lenore Look

Picture Book/Short Fiction Unit of Study

· Bad Kitty by Nick Bruel

· Grandmama’s Pride by Becky Birtha

· Jamaica’s Find by Juanita Havill

· Mia’s Story by Michael Foreman

· Mutt Dog by Stephen Michael King

· Not Norman: A Goldfish Story by Kelly Bennett

· Edwina: The Dinosaur Who Didn’t Know She Was Extinct by Mo Willems

· Hop Jump by Ellen Stohl Walsh

· A Frog Thing by Eric Drachman

For the semi-complete list, click here. Please note: My Memoir Touchstone Texts and Poetry Study Tests are completely missing from this list as it stands now. Once I add them, I will post this link again.