friday poetry · poetry

Poetry Friday: An Acrostic Poem About Labor Day

I was looking around for a poem about Labor Day on this final summer Friday. (I know, I know… summer goes through mid-September. However, this is the weekend that always feels like the last weekend of summer to me.) I found an acrostic poem by Nicholas Gordon that captures the mood and feeling that I think many people hold about Labor Day.

Labor Day officially ends summer,
As those who work enjoy one final fling.
Blessed are those who bear the daily burden,
Of whom few savants speak or minstrels sing,
Returning to the shallows of September.

Click here to read the rest of the poem (i.e., the DAY part).

Poetry Friday is being held over at Charlotte’s Library this week.

2 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: An Acrostic Poem About Labor Day

Comments are closed.