angela johnson · mentor texts · reading-writing connections · writing workshop

The Craft Table for A SWEET SMELL OF ROSES is complete!

I dissected Angela Johnson’s Book, A Sweet Smell of Roses, to the best of my ability today. I created wordy teaching points so you can truly help your students to see what craft moves Johnson made (at least, the ones I think she made). This will help you show the writers in your classroom how to make the same craft moves Johnson made by using precise language to help them understand how to go about making a particular craft move.

The craft table for this book includes explanations of the following craft moves:

  • Conventions: Points of Ellipsis
  • Fragments
  • Movement Through Time & Place
  • Pronouns
  • Repetition
  • Action Verbs
  • Symbolism
  • I hope this table is useful to you when you confer.

    3 thoughts on “The Craft Table for A SWEET SMELL OF ROSES is complete!

    Comments are closed.