personal essay

Graphic Organizer for Personal Essay Thesis Development

I’ll be using this with my students tomorrow. Just wanted to share!

The topic I would like to write my personal essay about is: _______________________________

 

 

The big thing I really want to say (or claim) about my topic is: ____________________________

 

 

Here are several thesis statements starters I could use to prove my point about the topic I am writing about:

 

1. Many people think _______________________________________________________________________, but I think _________________________________________________________________________________.

2. I used to think _________________________________________________________________________, but now I think ____________________________________________________________________________.

3. I’ve come to believe that _______________________________________________________________.

Review all three thesis statements you wrote above.

Which one is the clearest? ______        Which one communicates your big idea? ______

Which one do you think you want to use? ______

Rewrite the statement you like the best in the space below:

 

 

The first point I’ll make that proves my thesis to be true is:…

    (State it clearly in a sentence.)

 

 

The second point I’ll make that proves my thesis to be true is:

    (State it clearly in a sentence.)

 

 

The third point I’ll make that proves my thesis to be true is:

    (State it clearly in a sentence.)

 

TO BE COMPLETED BY YOUR WRITING PARTNER:

I, ______________________________, have reviewed _____________________’s Thesis Statement and think that s/he can prove it as it’s written above.

3 thoughts on “Graphic Organizer for Personal Essay Thesis Development

  1. I borrowed this and adapted is for my class, who were struggling with their patches of thought. Well, this was amazing! It really lifted the level of their writing.

    Thank you for posting!
    -Sarah

    Like

Comments are closed.