Election 2008

What Are You Planning to Do On Inauguration Day?

President-Elect Barack Obama’s Inauguration is two days away. What are you planning to do to commemorate this moment with your class?  I’ve decided to stream the Inaugural Address in my classroom with my computer and LCD Projector during lunchtime.  (Prior to that my kids are going to open up the letters they wrote to their future selves.)

Need ideas or just want to see what others are doing?  Check out a NY Times Article that was published on Friday.

Schools from New Hampshire to Florida to California are working to bring the excitement of the inauguration of the country’s first African-American president to the classroom.

3 thoughts on “What Are You Planning to Do On Inauguration Day?

  1. The governor of Florida has suggested that all students watch the Inauguration. We were going to watch it anyway. We have been reading a variety of books about the presidency. We will do some writing before and after. Haven’t decided exactly what. That is today’s project–lesson plans!!

    Like

  2. I am also setting up my projector so my students can watch it. I figure it will keep running with volume lowered until Obama speaks, then I’ll turn the volume up.

    In my Language Arts class, I will have students write reflections as they are watching it.

    (Also, I submitted my proposal for writer’s notebooks to Donor’s Choose and it was accepted! Thank you for your great idea.)

    Like

  3. We will be watching the ceremony love from 11:30ish-1pm (when it is scheduled to end). We will also have the kids working on packets related to the event.

    In the morning, both of my classes will be focusing on inauguration poetry.

    Like

Comments are closed.