conventions · immersion · punctuation

Thinking About Punctuation in Texts

My students shared their findings about punctuation marks, from earlier in the week, with each other yesterday. The charts, below, were eye-opening for me since not all of the descriptions about why the authors used them made sense to me. Further, some of the examples didn’t quite match-up. Nonetheless, these were from the first two (of four) immersion days in our Conventions Unit of Study. I’m sure they’ll be experts by time time we finish-up in late April.

And, next week in Workshop (I did next week’s charts last night when I came home from work)…

Kid-Friendly Teaching Points on an Anchor Chart
Kid-Friendly Teaching Points on an Anchor Chart

2 thoughts on “Thinking About Punctuation in Texts

  1. Thanks for sharing you planning and the kid’s work. We are noticing punctuation in my room, or shall I say the lack of it in their writing sometimes. I’m going to honor you by adapting your ideas into my classroom.

    Like

Comments are closed.