letter writing · reflections · responsive classroom

End of Year Letters BACK TO My Students

My Hope and Dream Letter

Originally uploaded by teachergal

I can hardly believe there’s only five school days left even though I’ve been going through my students’ end of the year reflection letters, and responding to each of them in writing, this past week. It takes awhile to do it well. Therefore, this is the third night I’m working on them (I’m hoping to finish this evening!).

I’ve found my responses (written on handmade note cards) to be a bit lengthier this year since I’m tying my notes back to them in with my “hope and dream” for each of my students. Seeing as I had them reflect on whether or not they’ve accomplished their hopes and dreams this year, I thought it would be nice for ME to not only reflect on what they have accomplished, but on what I hope they’ll accomplish in their school careers and in their lives.

3 thoughts on “End of Year Letters BACK TO My Students

  1. Stacey your project has such great meaning for each student individually.
    I often make individual small photo albums of the year with notes to the kids. It is a lot of work, but one of those items I feel they do hold on to. (Many do not have families that take photos as they grow up)
    However, I really appreciate your letters idea as it continues their reflection as fourth grade learners. Definitely want to add this into my next year plans. thanks

    Like

  2. This is such a great end-of-year practice, and it’s so cool that you’ve continued to refine it! Best wishes for your move to PA and the next chapter in your teaching career, Stacey!

    Like

Comments are closed.