technology

Flip Cameras

I always wanted a flip camera when I was in the classroom so I could capture those students engrossed in their writing, thoughtful peer conferences, and incredible share sessions.  However, by the time I wanted one, I knew I’d be exiting the classroom to work as a consultant, so I never saw that desire to fruition.

I recently came across a link to an article in Instructor entitled “Flip Video for Kids,”  which includes suggestions for involving students with flip cameras in the classroom.  Click here to take a peek at it to get some new ideas.  Please leave a comment if you have additional ideas/ways that others can use a flip camera in their classroom.

5 thoughts on “Flip Cameras

  1. I used the Flip to make a video about the rules and procedures at our school. It’s a great way to show what something looks like and what it shouldn’t look like (especially for primary grades).

    I am still trying to figure out how to use it best in the classroom…the kids love teaching their lessons in front of the camera…just not sure what to do with them afterwards. Some will get posted on our blog…9 parent permissions so far! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve been playing in the digital world with photos and video. I have used Flip cameras but quickly moved o a better video camera. Flips are just too limited but this year I’m involved with a great 8th grade project at a school. The whole great is involved in a theme based project. 6 teams, 6 issues focused projects and I am working with the tech team of kids who will be using Flips to interview and document the work of their team. I will continue using my latest video camera for my pieces it’s a camera the size of a coke can with a small memory card to upload the videos. I’m in heaven.
    As for the kids, it will be a great challenge to see what they do and how we assess this project. I’m excited!
    Bonnie

    Like

Comments are closed.