Needs vs. Wants + 2 Book Giveaways

Every morning I receive an e-mail from Zulily.com, which entices me with products for my baby, who is supposed to arrive early next month.  Zulily always has fantastic merchandise (e.g., clothes, toys, accessories) at a discount price daily.  I want to buy nearly everything I see.  However, I realize that I don’t need most of the things I want to buy, which is why I’ve only purchased from Zulily once since I began subscribing to their daily deal emails.

I think a lot about “my needs” vs. “my wants.”  They’re very different things.  Sometimes we can confuse ourselves by thinking we need something, when in reality, it’s just something we want.  It’s the same with kids, especially at this time of year.  Many kids want expensive games, gadgets, and toys, which their parents simply cannot afford.  Some children understand the realities of their family’s financial situation, while others don’t.  Therefore, as educators, it’s important for us to discuss the concept of needs vs. wants in the classrooms.

There are two read alouds, Charlie and Lola: I Really, REALLY Need Actual Ice Skates and THOSE SHOES, that are ideal for broaching the needs vs. wants concept with your students.  Charlie and Lola: I Really, REALLY Need Actual Ice Skates is a relatively new book, while THOSE SHOES has been around for a few years (click here to read some of the things I’ve blogged about, with regard to THOSE SHOES in the past).   Each one deals with a child who wants, but doesn’t need, a particular type of footwear.  However, even though they deal with ice skates and the “in” sneakers, the idea of wanting something that one doesn’t actually need can be translated to anything on a child’s holiday wish list.

Here are some excerpts from both books so you can get an idea of how one of the two books deals with the topic of needs vs. wants.

Charlie and Lola: I Really, REALLY Need Actual Ice Skates

Click on the image to enlarge.

Click on the image to enlarge.

THOSE SHOES

Click on the image to enlarge.

Click on the image to enlarge.

Click on the image to enlarge.

Not only can you read these books aloud to your students, you can use them to inspire some introspective, holiday-related notebook writing about what one needs vs. what one wants at this time of year.  Perhaps, after reading Charlie and Lola: I Really, REALLY Need Actual Ice Skates and Those Shoes aloud to your students, they will realize that what they really need at this time of year are people that love them, which is much more fulfilling than any new game system ever will be.

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION:

  • Penguin Young Readers Group and Candlewick Press are giving away one copy of Charlie and Lola: I Really, REALLY Need Actual Ice Skates and THOSE SHOES, respectively.
  • To win a copy of the book please leave a comment about this post, in the comments section of this post by Thursday, December 16th by 11:59 p.m. EST A random drawing will take place on Sunday, December 19th and the winner’s name will be announced in a blog post later that day.
  • Please be sure to leave a valid e-mail address when you post your comment so I can contact you to obtain your mailing address.  If your name is selected, then I will pass your mailing address on to my contacts at Penguin and Candlewick who will ship the books out.  Please note: Your e-mail address will not be published online.

PERMISSIONS:

  • Charlie and Lola: I Really, REALLY Need Actual Ice Skates by Lauren Child.  Copyright © 2010.
    • Used with permission of Dial Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group.
  • THOSE SHOES.  Text copyright © 2007 Maribeth Boelts.  Illustrations copyright © 2007 Noah Z. Jones.
    • Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Candlewick Press, Somerville, MA.