social networking

Social Bookmarking

I attended a workshop led by Troy Hicks yesterday. It was exceptional. Everyone brought their own laptops and he led us through day of trying things out, setting things up, and thinking things through. One of the new resources I learned about are the Common Craft videos on YouTube which teach about different tech tools in “plain English.” Here is one on social bookmarking.

Instead of using delicious, we turned to diigo for a social bookmarking site. It allows you to not only add bookmarks, but to also add sticky notes on the website to track your thinking or potential quotes for, say, a research paper or persuasive essay. Diigo obliterates the need for note cards while researching.

I know some of you are thinking, not another “tech-thing,” but seriously, this will make your life easier. In twenty minutes, we were set up and on our way. So watch the video, then hop over to diigo. When you make your account follow me so we can share our favorite sites.

Happy surfing.

5 thoughts on “Social Bookmarking

  1. At first, your post made think: oh no! another techy thingy to master? But diigo looks awesome – my links may actually stand a chance of being organized. I’ll give it a try!

    Like

  2. Thanks, Ruth. Like Bonnie, I too use Diigo only sporadically, but know that it would be good to use it more.

    I look forward to staying connected via Diigo and wonder what else we might be able to do for All Write and/or collaborate on by using it?

    Troy

    Like

  3. I just started using diigo and LOVE it. I no longer have to email myself links between work and home. I love how easy it is to organize things and all the wonderful research features.

    Like

Comments are closed.