A Persuasive Touchstone Text

I Wanna New Room by Karen Orloff Karen Orloff, illustrated by David Catrow. Copyright © 2010. Used with permission of G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group.

Karen Kaufman Orloff wrote I Wanna Iguana, which quickly became one of my favorite texts to use with my students to teach voice in persuasive letter writing.  She’s out with a new book, I Wanna New Room, which can be added to my growing list of touchstone texts for a persuasive unit.

If you’re familiar with I Wanna Iguana, then you’ll be excited to see Alex is back and asking for something else.  In this book he wants to get his own bedroom since he now has to share one with his younger brother Ethan since there’s a new baby (girl) in the house.  Alex is NOT enjoying sharing his space with his loud and annoying younger brother.  Through a series of letters written back and forth between Alex and his father (That’s right, his father.  Mom’s too tired in this book to exchange missives with her son.), Alex details specific reasons why he needs a space of his own.  Here’s a peek inside of the book for some of the exchanges between father and son:

Click on the image to enlarge.

Click on the image to enlarge.

Click on the image to enlarge.

This book has a universal theme since nearly any child who has to share with siblings can relate to Alex’s plight.  Therefore, I highly recommend adding this text to your touchstone texts book basket if you’re planning to teach persuasive letter writing this year.