goals · olw · reflections · Reflective Practice

Ruth’s OLW: Reflection 2011 + Word 2012.

First a little reflection on OLW ’11…

Ruth's 2011 One Little Word

I chose this word because I felt like it encompassed everything in my life. The list of words in the tape along the bottom of the image, shows the connections I was interested in making. I was surprised to find the online connections I make just as integral as the connections I make in person. It was also neat to connect in person with some people that I only know online. As expected, in order to have deep connections, I have to be intentional and think of ways to connect and build relationships.

What I realized, though, at the end of the year is how all the different elements of my life are woven together. Sometimes my life feels so compartmentalized. I’m a teacher in that town, a mom in this town, a daughter over there, and a sister in another place.  I’m a teacher on this blog, a writer on that blog, a mom on another blog. I’m a reader in that group, a Sunday school teacher for this group, a writer in another group, a leader for bible study, a follower for that committee.

My word, CONNECT, taught me that I’m all of those things all of the time. I don’t have to make such an effort to compartmentalize because it’s okay being all of me all the time.

And now for OLW ’12…

Ruth's OLW for 2012: Salt.

I knew I wanted a noun this year. I toyed with STORY, but decided it is a word that is already threaded into my being. I think I have a lot to learn from SALT, making it a perfect word for me. To read more about my decision, check out my post on Ruth Ayres Writes.

8 thoughts on “Ruth’s OLW: Reflection 2011 + Word 2012.

  1. “What I realized, though, at the end of the year is how all the different elements of my life are woven together.”

    I love this line. What a perfect way to think about your word for 2011 as the new year unveils itself.

    As a participant in the community you created, I am grateful for your not only your ability to connect, but to have fostered so many connections amongst the rest of us. Thank you.

    Like

  2. I really like your word “connect”. We all are so many people in one! Or as I would say it, we wear many hats. “Connect” does say that well. I like Salt. I would like that word but really don’t feel it for me this year. I have felt it in the past. I’ll have to contemplate my OLW. I must get back on my blog. So much has been going on that i just have not had time to write on it. I’ll try to get there, but I too have tried to give myself grace and do what i can. “It is what it is.” My daughter has been saying this and she has me beginning to realize that I don’t have to be in a box. I can be free. So I’ll consider my OLW. Welcome to 2012. We tour this year together. Thank you for your wisdom and courage to write your thoughts. 🙂

    Like

  3. I liked reading your reflection about connect and how it wove through your life in 2011. The choice of salt for this year intrigues me. I can hardly wait to see where it takes you!

    Like

  4. I love the idea of choosing one word. I’ve been thinking a lot about it, and my word for this year is going to be BALANCE.

    Right now I feel like I’ve put soooo much energy into my teaching, I’ve sort of neglected the rest of me. I think that was okay and somewhat inevitable short-term (I’m a relatively new teacher), but I’m ready for some more balance in my life!

    I even got started early, by using my winter break as an actual break, not just extra time to plan lessons. Okay, I’m not going to lie, I still thought about teaching. But I thought about many other things as well, so I’m still calling it a successful start!

    Like

  5. It’s nice to hear that you too have felt like you are divided into pieces, and sometimes that is okay, but mostly to connect them all feels better. I’ll try to look at that concept this year.

    Like

  6. I can’t wait to click over to your other blog to read more about how you chose salt. This is my third year with an OWL, and I am already thinking ahead to future years. I think that next year I want to have a word like salt, that is not as obvious as a OWL so that I can see how it unfolds in the year. My three words that I have chosen have always been a word that I saw an obvious connection to my life and what was going on at the time.

    Like

Comments are closed.