Reflective Practice · relaxation · routines · writing workshop

Starting Slowly

One of the things I realized about myself when I went to the Choice Literacy writing retreat is how quickly I speed through the day. I like to pay attention to the world around me, but sometimes I’m moving too quickly. For the past few weeks I’ve been trying to slow down my pace.

It’s good to remember this at the start of a new school year.

We can be so excited about writing workshop and our plans and the getting-going that we forget sometimes slow is a very good thing. Of course, we are also feeling all kinds of pressure to meet common core and increase our performance and score big on tests that there is a push to get going right now, and we forget sometimes slow is a very good thing.

Part of slowing down is considering the heart of the message. I’m asking myself a lot of questions. What is the most important thing for beginning writers to know? How am I going to anchor this key idea in writing workshop? How will I introduce it? Here are some of the ways I’m answering these questions.

  • Everyone has a story to tell. Think about the things that matter most to you. Collect these ideas. Talk about them. Tell stories. Sketch. Illustrate. Research. Jot. Plan.
  • It is important to share your story with others. It’s a big gift when people share their stories with us. When writers are grateful, they listen attentively, encourage, ask questions, and realize other stories they could tell.
  • It’s important to document our stories so we don’t forget them and so we can share them with others who aren’t in our community. Writers document their stories in a variety of ways. Illustrations, text, and video are a few ways writers document their stories.

I’m asking myself if these ideas hold true for a diverse spectrum of writers. I think they do. I think these things are true for 3 year old writers and 9 year old writers and 18 year old writers.

Today I get to launch writing workshop in a kindergarten classroom. On Thursday I’ll be learning alongside eighth graders. In both cases, I’m going to be intentionally slowing myself down and paying attention to the heart of the message I want to send about being a writer.

  1. You have a story to tell.
  2. You have the ability to tell it.
  3. Others need to hear it too.

On another note: I’m participating in the Ivy+Bean Blog-A-Bration. There is a terrific grand prize that will be given away in honor of Ivy + Bean Day on October 13.  In order to be eligible for the grand prize drawing, you have to be selected as a weekly giveaway winner. Each participating blog will select 4 weekly giveaway recipients until the final week before Ivy + Bean Day. Go here to enter and to find a list of participating blogs in order to increase your chances of being eligible for the grand prize and to join in the excitement of Ivy + Bean Day.

7 thoughts on “Starting Slowly

  1. Thank you, Ruth. Slow is good and as I ready my room for Monday’s students I’ve been thinking about what to introduce first. You capture both my excitement and hesitation (or planning). High school is a brave new world to my ninth graders and I need to keep that in mind as I kick off the year and build our community. Perfect timing.

    Like

  2. Love this post–especially the part on the answers to the questions you’ve been asking yourself. So important to remember these things if we are going to help our students love writing.

    Like

  3. Love these three ideas! I am the new writing coordinator in our district (yay!) and I may incorporate these into my introductory letter. I also love Eve Merriam’s poem…read it years ago and forgot about it. Need to remember that it takes slow to grow!

    Like

  4. What a great reminder as we start the school year! Thank you! Sometimes I struggle with narrowing down the MOST important ideas to start the year with, and your three are perfect. Hmm…I’m thinking a poster/chart with those three is going to make it into my classroom soon. 🙂

    Like

  5. I like both your post & Ryan’s comment, Ruth. I am working with 4 very new teaches this year & today I talked with a new teacher about taking a few steps at a time. I think you just illustrated even better what I meant, to slow down in order to do some good things a little at a time. Thank you for this; it will firm up my ideas with the communication.

    Like

  6. I was so excited to share something new, but when I searched for it, would you believe that you already posted about it 🙂 Anyways, your post reminded me of this poem and it’s such a great poem that I wanted to “dust it off” from your Two Writing Teachers post in 2008. Lucy Calkins also spotlights this poem in Living Between the Lines or The Art of Teaching Writing (I can’t remember which one), but what an important reminder at the start of the year.

    A Lazy Thought
    By Eve Merriam

    There go the grownups
    To the office,
    To the store.
    Subway rush,
    Traffic crush;
    Hurry, scurry,
    Worry, flurry.

    No wonder
    Grown ups
    Don’t grow up
    Any more.
    It takes a lot
    Of slow
    To grow.

    Like

Comments are closed.