A Little Writing Love

As an instructional coach, a key part of my job is to encourage and inspire teachers. This is one of my favorite things about my job. It isn’t easy to be the person who is always nudging people to grow, but it is fun to be the person who gets to offer doses of encouragement and inspiration. It is something I’ve been more intentional about this year.

At one of the schools, we’ve decided to start a writing group. I am ecstatic about this. I believe the single best way to becoming a more effective teacher of writers is to be a writer yourself. I also know the a critical impact my own writing group (Hello BONS) has on my life. Not to mention the group is a eclectic mix of people from diverse experiences. I can’t wait to read the writing they bring to group.

Because I’m grateful for their bravery and because I know how hard it is to put your writing out there for others, I’ve been intentional about offering encouragement and inspiration. Last week I left quotes about writing in their mailboxes. Today I left these:

 

Little notebooks with a little sparkle and a little note. Here’s a PDF if you want to use these cards too. Just print them on card stock and then cut them apart. Voila, instant inspiration to share with colleagues.

Next week I have another dose of encourage”mint” for them in the form of delightful mint treats. If that doesn’t make them feel inspired to write, then I’m sure my homemade To-Die-For Blueberry Muffins will. I’m planning to serve them warm at our first writing group meeting. I really had to rack my brain to figure out how to offer encouragement at 7:00 am on a Friday morning! Warm To-Die-For Blueberry Muffins ought to do the trick!

How about you? How will you offer encouragement and inspiration this week?