Where to start?

As many of you know, I love helping people get started with workshop. Here’s what I’m wondering tonight…

What is the most important thing to know as a writing workshop teacher?

I’d love to hear your thoughts, so I hesitate to share mine. Please leave a comment about your first reaction to this question. Even if someone else already said what you were thinking, will you still let me know? Sometimes I wonder if I’m too far away from being a new workshop teacher that I forget the handful of things that are most important to know when just beginning.

Here is my list of three, but please still share your thoughts.

  1. Write yourself and reflect on your process.
  2. Teach writers not writing assignments.
  3. Establish a predictable structure so the messy, unpredictable work of writing can happen.