Please share your words today. #slice2013

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

sols_blue

Please link up your slice of life story to this post today. As always, be sure to check out other bloggers’ writing by clicking through the links in the comment section of this post. Come back later today or tomorrow to read through others slicers’ links.

This post is doing triple-duty.  First, I hope your new year is off to a great start!  May 2013 be a good year for you and your loved ones!  Second, I want to encourage you to link up your slice of life stories today.  (If you’re on Twitter, feel free to use the hashtag #slice2013.)  Third, I want to talk to you about one little word.

We don’t talk about new year’s resolutions around TWT, we talk about words.  Little words.  Usually just one little word for each year that we choose to live by.  Therefore, rather than making a resolution you may or may not keep after today, think about crafting one little word to live by all year long.  (If you need help, then check out our archived posts about one little word.)  For instance, instead of resolving to go to the gym four times a week, you might want to choose a word like “healthy” or “well-being.” Personally, I like to find a quote to accompany my one little word since it helps me deepen the meaning behind the word I’ve selected.  Sometimes I choose the word first.  This year the quote helped me anchor my choice of a word.

I’ve been thinking about the one little word I will live by for the past few weeks.  I’m recommitting myself to improving my physical health this year.  (I focused on my health back in 2009 when I choose the word wellness since I wasn’t healing quickly enough after my May 2007 neurosurgery.)  Therefore, I looked at words like bloom, diligence, rejuvenate, restoration, strength, and vigor.  However, it wasn’t until Sunday morning, when I was reading an article in The New York Times’ Travel Section that I decided upon vitality. The article contained a quote that felt as though it was speaking directly to me:

Wellness is this feeling of confidence, this feeling of vitality, this feeling of “You got this.’  Wellness is a verb just as much as an adjective.  –Dr. Jim Nicolai, medical director of the Andrew Weil integrative wellness program

If you need help selecting your one little word for 2013, then click here for an alphabetized list.

Warmest wishes for a happy, healthy, and FUN 2013.  Looking forward to slicing with all of you today and every week this year.