Reflective Practice

Enough

I want you to know you are enough.

Enough. As in you are good enough.

Enough. As in I’ve had enough.

Enough. As in I have enough time.

You are enough.

I think this is a state of mind. You choose to believe you are enough. Sometimes it’s easy to get caught up wishing we were someone else. We compare ourselves to the teacher next door or the blog across cyberspace. We imagine if we could just be more creative or more patient or more…more…more then everything would be better.

Sometimes we get caught up believing there is too much to do. We think if we had less tasks then life would be better. We imagine if we could just have a shorter to-do list then everything would be better.

The truth of the matter is the world needs more people being themselves. As Howard Thurman says, “Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” The world needs you to be you. You were made for this time, for this job, for this group of kids. Stop wasting time wishing you were someone else. Instead, embrace the person you are. Because not only are you enough, but you are a perfect version of yourself.

The truth of the matter is there is plenty of time to accomplish the things that need done. H. Jackson Brown, Jr. said, “Don’t say you don’t have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Helen Keller, Pasteur, Michelangelo, Mother Teresa, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson, and Albert Einstein.”

Sure we’re busy. This is the life of an educator.

Sure we wish we could do more. This is the life of an educator.

It’s not bad to be busy. It’s not bad to aspire to do more.

But don’t limit yourself by believing the lie that you are not enough.

23 thoughts on “Enough

  1. Silent reading. Children lost to me in the pages of their books, but each, in those pages, on a path to themselves. I choose to read you today, and their is the reminder, beautifully delivered through your words, enough can be bountiful. Thank you, Ruth!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for posting this! I logged on and this was the first thing I read. I needed to hear the inspiration and encouragement. I appreciate it 🙂

    Like

  3. That is why I chose acceptance as my one little attitude for 2013. I need to accept who I am and let me be me. Thanks for this post.

    Like

  4. So glad to come across this tonight. All day I’ve worried over a coming job change working with new teachers and wondering if I’ll be enough.

    Like

Comments are closed.