Just Write.

I hope you are taking the summer to just write. Life is too short not to write. I’ve been percolating today’s blog post and planned to write it this afternoon. However, plans changed, so this slide from my keynote presentation will have to do. Hopefully it will nudge you to write.

A slide from an upcoming keynote presentation.

A slide from an upcoming keynote presentation.

One of the reasons I keep writing is because I know how fragile life is. We aren’t guaranteed the next moment, so it is important to savor the moments we have. Today I spent the afternoon in doctors’ offices and the hospital with Sam. Thankfully nothing major happened. He did, however, fracture his right clavicle in a skateboarding accident.

So instead of blogging, I was patiently waiting with a tough as nails 7 year old who is very sore and a little sad about all of the things “put up” for the summer (baseball, bike, skateboard, flips). He is trying not to wallow, so we began listing things to be thankful for. “My brain bucket,” he said.¬†Yes, yes, let’s be very thankful for that. It could have been much worse.

“Can I still write?” he asked the doctor.

“Yes, but you probably won’t have to do much of that since it’s summer.”

“Yes I do. I’m writing a chapter book about a dog named Sweetie. You can tell my mom it would be better for my shoulder to type it, though.”

I love that this kid is a writer.

I hope you will write too.