Online Relationships Become Real

{This isn’t the end of my thinking and sharing about the All-Write 2013 Summer Institute. There will be more…check Ruth Ayres Writes since we are on vacation around here throughout the month of July!}

Linda Baie (Teacher Dance), Ramona (Pleasures from the Page),

Elsie (Elsie Tries Writing), me, Christy Rush-Levine (Living)

(from left to right)

There is something special when the stories you read on your computer screen meet in real-life. I still can’t believe I got to meet so many slicers in person. I’d love to list them all, but I know there would be some I miss. Please know if you’re not listed here it’s not because I didn’t love meeting you, it’s simply because I was overwhelmed by the magic of meeting in person.

On Wednesday, 33 of us met for a pre-conference dinner. I still can’t believe they were okay with posing for a picture! There were so many people in one room who I respect and admire and it was a little overwhelming when they went around the room and introduced themselves. This is a community alive because we write and share. Passion grows this way.

The conference was filled with lots of talk about taking risks and creativity and focusing on children rather than standards. I was touched and honored by the people filling the room in my session.

Linda Baie, Bonnie Kapplan (blkdrama),
Nanc (Two Years and Finishing Strong), Christy Rush-Levine,
Elsie (from front left to right) ; Robin (Teaching Tomorrow’s Leaders),
Betsy (Teaching Young Writers) (from back left to right)

There are so many I don’t have photos for…Katherine Sokolowski from Read, Write ReflectKaren Terlecky from Literate LivesDonalyn MillerTony KeeferMindy RenchCindy Minnich…the list goes on and on and on.

And those posted here…Linda, Christy, Elsie, Ramona, Mary Helen, Bonnie, Nanc, Robin, Betsy, and Tam.

It is very good to spend time together in person. It pushes thinking and makes me realize these relationships are real and worthwhile. Thank you to all those (pictured or not) — you make a difference in my life!