July Vacation

20130610-142846.jpg

I’m looking forward to enjoying time outdoors with my family in the next month. In this picture, taken earlier this month, my daughter picks some strawberries in her toddler-sized garden.

Summer pace has already set in around out house.  I’ve been “sleeping in” ’til 6:30 a.m. on most days.  Mornings are less hectic, which leaves time for leisurely breakfasts and less rushing out the door. School is not in session, which means my days with Isabelle are filled with play dates, exploring the outdoors, reading books, trying out new playgrounds, talking, and generally having fun!

Even though I just delivered my first keynote 24 hours ago, I’m putting the finishing touches on the one I’ll do next month at the Pennsylvania Writing and Literature Project‘s summer institute.  Speaking of next month, I’ll be nursing a family member back to health after surgery.  When I’m not playing caregiver, I’ll be reading the newspaper and news magazines (and will Tweet-out the ones that resonate with me), writing on my other blog, and trying to squeeze-in some time for some fiction reading.  Once that person is back on their feet again, I’m hoping to get out there and enjoy summery things like mornings in the blueberry patch and afternoons by the pool.

In an effort to make sure summer doesn’t pass us by, we’ve decided to take a month off from blogging here at Two Writing Teachers again this summer. Today is the last non-Slice of Life Story Challenge post you’ll see until Monday, August 5th. [NOTE: We'll still be hosting the Tuesday Slice of Life Story Challenge during the entire month of July. (I've pre-set the posts to launch on Tuesday mornings at 12:01 a.m. Eastern Time.)]

In the meantime, I hope you will…

  • Check out our blogroll, which is categorized at the bottom of our main page and at the bottom of every post. There are many other excellent bloggers who will continue to provide fresh content about literacy while we’re away.
  • Use our archives to search for what you need. We’ve been blogging for over six years and have lots of archived content on nearly every aspect of writing workshop. Just type the key words you’re searching for (e.g., “writer’s notebooks,” “craft tables,” “poetry”) into the search bar. The search bar can be found by scrolling to the bottom of any page on our blog.
  • Click around our other blogs, which we’ll be working on next month.
  • Seek out free online professional development.  For example:
    • Stenhouse’s Third Annual Summer Blogstitute began on June 20th and will continue all summer. (Click here to learn more.)
    • Teachers Write led by Kate Messner, started on June 24th.  It’s not too late to get started.  (Click here for more information.)
    • The Teachers College Reading and Writing Project leads Twitter Chats on Monday and Wednesday evenings all summer long.  (Click here and scroll to page seven for more details.)
  • Rest and relax too!

Please come back and “see” us in August.

How ’bout you?  Will you take some time away from the computer this summer?  If so, what are you looking forward to doing this summer?