Hello August!

Here I am and August is here too. It has been a long summer that is going too fast. It’s the paradox of time. One thing is for sure: It keeps moving.

Next Monday I will be in school. Here are a few things that make me excited to return.

Little Owl's Orange Scarf by Tatyana Feeney. Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers.

Little Owl’s Orange Scarf by Tatyana Feeney. Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers.

running away

The Beginner’s Guide to Running Away by Jennifer LaRue Huget and Red Nose Studio. Schwartz & Wade Books.

Check out how I plan to use these books with young writers in my blog post.

twitter

 

Twitter makes me excited to return to school. In the muck of educational politics and the stress of high stakes testing, Twitter keeps me grounded. I always smile when I realize this, because Twitter was one of those things I thought I’d do for a week or two and then move on because it was fluff. I couldn’t have misunderstood Twitter more! It is my go-to source for professional development and I often realize my network of fellow educators, authors, and grounded people save me from becoming stagnant and cynical. If you’ve been thinking about stepping into Twitter, now is a perfect time. Here is an old post (but well worth the read for someone new to Twitter) from Franki Sibberson about starting Twitter and here is a round up of the things Stacey and I have written about Twitter.

Finally there is a tension about missing summer and anticipating school that makes me excited to return to school. It is good to have a routine and to build habits around a schedule . A daily discussion around our house goes like this:

Person A: I’m not sure I want to go back to school.

Person B:: I know what you mean. I love summer.

Person A: But if we don’t go back to normal then summer isn’t special.

Person B: And special stuff happens during the school year too.

The conversational roles are interchangeable. Sometimes I’m the one lamenting about the end of summer sometimes it’s them. Sometimes we’re excited about returning and sometimes we’re sad about saying good bye to summer. It is this tug-of-war that makes me realize summer is coming to a close. It’s this tension that makes me ready to return to school.

This week I’ll be lingering over my morning coffee and snuggling longer with books and kids and saying yes to swimming and sunscreen and football in the yard and lounging around with another book. This week we will giggle and hug and go to bed too late. And next week I’ll return to school, excited and ready to embrace the routine and the good stuff that happens there. I’d love to hear how you are transitioning and getting excited to return.