writing workshop

Flash drafting our way to a “best first draft”.

We are trying something new in our memoir unit this year: flash drafting our way to a “best first draft”.  The main reason for this is that for as long as I’ve taught memoir, I’ve always had a handful of students who would reach the midpoint of their first draft and then just stall.  Our conferences would begin with big sighs and  something like this:

“I think I want to switch my idea – this just doesn’t feel memoir-y now.”

or:

“I don’t know Mrs. Smith – this felt memoirish when I was planning and sketching and thinking and stuff…but not any more.  I kinda want to start again.”

And then we would both glance at all the writing that had been done, think about all the new writing ahead, and share a common sense of despair. After all that careful mentor text work, planning and  rehearsal, it seemed just plain wrong to start all over again.

So, this year  I planned something different: we would flash draft three strong ideas before committing to one memoir-worthy idea.  Think of it, I told my kids,  as test driving three different cars before settling on the one you are ready to drive off the lot with, the one you are ready to attach your vanity plate to.  They were all in.

By the time we had arrived at this point, my students had lists of memoir worthy ideas; these had been gleaned from our mentor text work and from sharing time in our writers’ circles, where we bounced ideas off of one another in an effort to jog our memories.  They had further winnowed these lists down to three strong ideas, each of which we would flash draft over the course of three days.  We were ready to get going.

In a further effort to make the most of each flash draft, I had my students craft purpose statements and a quick writing plan before beginning “fast and furious writing” (as this process is described in the Units of Study):

IMG_0088

At the end of the third day, we gathered together to ask the big question: were we ready to commit to one of these ideas? now that we’d had a chance to “test drive  each of our top three”, were we more sure of the best choice?  Here’s what my kids had to say:

  • it wasn’t stop and go and so I was able to get all my ideas down in one sitting – that was cool
  • I felt like I was just testing out my ideas, so I wasn’t so stressed about getting it right, just getting it done
  • I liked that we had just one period to work – it felt great to work from start to finish in one go
  • now that I had a chance to try out my “top three”, I feel really sure about the one I really want to write

Last Thursday and Friday, while I was off learning at NCTE, my students began working on their “best first drafts”.   We began conferring on Monday and Tuesday, and I was able to see whether this “something new” was yielding results.  Here’s what went well:

  • every student was happy with their topic choice, and confident that theirs was truly a memoir worthy moment
  • the flash draft served as a reference point – “when I felt stuck, I could take a peek at what I’d written before and that got me going again”

Evan’s work is a great example of how my kids were able to use the flash draft as a springboard for more powerful and intentional writing work:

IMG_0086 IMG_0087

But…here’s what went really wrong: some students simply copied their flash drafts and called it a day. That was certainly not the plan!   So, it was back to the drawing board for me: a mini lesson and clear directions about how not to use flash drafts when composing those best first drafts.

All in all, this was a much-improved way  to move along in our memoir unit of study.  No more getting stuck in the depths of “unmemoirish” drafts!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Flash drafting our way to a “best first draft”.

  1. This is such a great idea! I teach 7th grade and I have had students get halfway through a writing assignment before they admit to me that they don’t like their topic. I am definitely going to try this on future writing assignments!

    Like

  2. I love this on lots of levels. First, our REAL goal is for our students to see themselves as writers with many, many bits of their lives worthy of sharing, story-telling and reflection. In the end, they are getting what we want them to have, more writing time rather than just a crafted product to check off on a list. Also, by drafting a few of these moments, they are getting more practice seeing that our stories actually unfold AS they write. Finally, having multiple drafts in a genre gives them a deeper understanding and appreciation for the genre which is also a piece of what we want for them. Great idea…..Donald Graves would surely approve!

    Like

  3. I teach second grade (I looped up with my class). I’m thinking that this may be an idea for the students of mine who write and write and write, combining topics and not wanting to let go of the volume they’ve created. Maybe if I have them do three flash drafts using different topics (within a theme), they could then look back and develop just one. Also I have students who when given the task of choosing one book by an author to reflect on choose two (or more). This could help them out as they could jot down ideas for both and then choose one to focus on. I’m excited about this. Any feedback is appreciated.

    Like

  4. That is a genius idea! I liked the metaphor you used, it is clear and sure seemed to grab them. As for the “copy my flash draft” problem, that would have happened in my class… and sometimes it feels like they almost have to make that mistake- whatever it is… before you can move forward together. Because sharing that messy process is part of what we are teaching! I love flash drafts, and I love your idea. Thank you! Happy Thanksgiving.

    Like

  5. This is really smart work, Tara. I’ll be interested to hear more about your minilesson about how to use (and not use) flash drafts. I hope you’ll blog about it. 🙂

    Also, tell your friend Evan that I was really enjoying his first draft, and I’m sorry about his dog. 🙂

    Like

  6. I love the idea of test driving our writing possibilities. As a writer I would appreciate the opportunity to flesh out several ideas. Honestly somethings just don’t work out and that gives students a chance to try. I also love how students stated their purpose right up front. I haven’t done that so explicitly with my students (something to do!). The fact that student felt good about their choice is a BIG thing! As always, thank you Tara!
    And Happy Thanksgiving.
    Juiieanne

    Like

  7. I love getting inside your head and your work with your students. Did you encounter any students who couldn’t think of three distinct moments to write about? Did you use a timer for the flash drafts? I always falter between giving too many directives and not enough. I want my students to see what their writing purpose is, but I don’t want to script it. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. I think all the early work we did in reading mentor texts and discussing them, sharing ideas in writer’s circles, and story telling with partners really helped generate strong ideas, Margaret. As for time, we had the timer set for 20 minutes – this turned out to be a crucial thing, it added to focus and intensity of purpose. And we always, always, always craft purpose statements before we begin writing: I am writing about_____________, I want my reader to know______. That’s the anchor both my students and i return to when we confer.

      Like

  8. Hi Tara, I have also found the flash draft to be an excellent leaping off point! I think your students’s comment that it felt good to get it all down and not worry about it being right is why this works so well. It takes he pressure off! I also love your honesty about the writers who just copy it over… Always more work to be done! Take care!

    Like

  9. This is helpful, Tara. I always appreciate How To posts that include students’ comments, examples of students’ work, and a teacher’s reflection on what worked and what didn’t.

    A quick read this early Wed morning (before coffee!) gave me all those things. 🙂 And…. gave me an idea for my own writing!

    Thank you!

    Like

Comments are closed.