Peer Conferences

Peer Conferring… it’s one of the most important things I think we can teach our students how to do in a Writing Workshop. Hence, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about it this morning since my students have one more day of instruction before they begin publishing their personal narratives onto white paper (with dark lines underneath).

I was reading through Jim Vopat’s “Big Ideas for Revising” Book, which is contained inside of his Micro Lessons for Writing Set. I found a page called “p q p,” which stands for praise, question, polish. I liked this idea and thought I could use this as a basis for a new peer conference sheet. Therefore, I developed a new sheet, just for personal narratives, based off of Vopat’s “p q p” idea. Click here to download it for free. Please let me know what you think of it and if you think I could make any parts of it stronger.

Speaking of peer conferences, I just heard about a new book Writer to Writer: Fluency and Craft in the Multilingual Classroom by Mary Lee Prescott-Griffin that looks like it will be a great addition to my professional bookshelf.

After reading the sample chapter Heinemann posted online, it seems as though this book will really help me to help my students lift the level of their peer conferences, and subsequently, their writing.