assessment · Davis and Hill · reflections · writer's notebook · writers · writing

Self-Assessing Their Notebooks


Inspired by Davis and Hill‘s Book The No-Nonsense Guide to Teaching Writing: Strategies, Structures, and Solutions, which is published by Heinemann, I began giving my students weekend writing assessments last year. One of the girls in my class suggested that I change-up the Weekend Writer’s Notebook Assessment Form (which I had already modified from Davis and Hill’s Book once before) since she wanted to see different questions on it. Since the writing the kids do each week is different, I figured the form could stay the same… it wouldn’t matter if the questions were the same since their writing was changing each week.

Well, she asked me to change the form again this past Friday, citing the fact that she wanted new questions to challenge her as a writer. (Awesome, right!??!) Therefore, I just spent the past 45 minutes revamping the form I give my kids to help them self-assess their notebooks each weekend. It’s still a work in progress, so I’d appreciate feedback (please leave a comment)!

Click here to view the newest version of my Student Weekend Writer’s Notebook Assessment.

Go to page 16 of this pdf to see Davis and Hill’s Original Student Weekend Writing Assessment.