slice of life · Slice of Life Story Challenge · small moment · Write: It's good for you! · writer's notebook · writers · writing

Slice of Life Story Challenge: Day 1

SOLSC Logo

It’s 12:05 a.m. on March 1st, which means it’s time for me to post the widget for Day 1 of the Slice of Life Story Challenge.

Please link your Slice of Life Story to us here by clicking on the Mr. Linky Widget below.

To learn more about this Challenge, please visit our Slice of Life Challenge Page.

EDITED (10:45 a.m.): Please tag your posts with the words SLICE OF LIFE STORY CHALLENGE.

Here’s my lovely slice for today:


Some of my lovely accouterments this Saturday.

I rolled over in bed and squinted. 10:14. Then, I lifted my heavy arm up and leaned over further to get a tissue. Yuck! I’m not going to make it to Boston today, I thought.

As I was leaving work yesterday I felt not-so-great. By the time 7:00 p.m. rolled around, I felt like I was getting a cold. Now, by 10:14 a.m., I knew the bottom line. I was sick. Sick enough to have to cancel my plans to go to Boston today to hang out with my dear friend Emily. Sick enough to give up going to the Decordova Museum with Emily, which I was really looking forward to. Sick enough to realize that it was even hard to reach over to get my cell phone.

I finally grabbed my cell and dialed Emily who got my pre-warning e-mail that I was not feeling well last night. “No worries,” she said in her friendly voice. “We’ll get together another weekend. You need to stay home and get yourself well.”

In between coughs and sniffles I said, “Thanks, I’ll try to call you later today if my throat stops hurting.” Then, I mustered enough strength to go into the kitchen to make myself some tea. I filled the teapot with water and lit the burner. As the flame ignited all I could think of was, this is going to be the best slice of life story of the day today???? This is what I am putting out into the world on the first day of our Challenge. Nice!

And then it occurred to me, slices of life stories are about things that happen to ordinary people. So, I smiled, just as the water started to bubble inside the teapot. You can’t get any more ordinary than this!

11 thoughts on “Slice of Life Story Challenge: Day 1

  1. Thanks Stacey for sharing! I felt sick on Sat. also! It is ironic that your first entry would be “ordinary”. That’s just the way life is! I appreciate your openness. I hope you feel better today! When I get the chance, I read both you and Ruth’s blog. Write on!

    Like

  2. Love your slice of life! Sorry I have two up there… didn’t realize that one was from a daily something #13 I think… OPPS. Take care- Jen

    PS. I went on my blog and changed some things so that both you and Ruth can make comments from word press. Let me know if it works or not.

    Like

  3. Trying not to sound like a kid (how many pages do I have to write, etc.)…however, my slice of life stories, can they be stories from my past as well or do they need to be currently happening? Can I post more than one slice of life a day? Thanks for the insight and the challenge. It’s making me be more deliberate with my writing.

    Like

Comments are closed.