friday poetry · poetry

Poetry Friday

It’s springtime… ah! FINALLY!!! Yesterday we were blessed with a lovely 72-degree day. I rode home from work with my windows open and it was marvelous!

That being said, here’s the poem I’m considering sharing with my students today since I’m in the mood to share a spring poem with them during our Morning Meeting Poetry Friday (Share Time). πŸ™‚

It’s Time for Spring
Bobbi Katz

My sweater’s tight and itchy.
My snow pants are too small.
Last week I lost a mitten.
I can’t find my scarf at all!

My woolen socks have lost their toes.
My boots have lost their tread.
And I have lost the love I had
For words like “skis” and “sled”!

But . . . my fishing rod still fits.
And . . . my baseball bat still hits.
I have a kite that wants to fly.
So . . . winter, call it quits!

This week, Poetry Friday is being hosted by A Wrung Sponge.

A One Week Poetry Challenge
Reminder: if you’re taking the Week-Long Poetry Challenge, it starts tomorrow. The charge will be posted a little after midnight. (Thanks to pre-writing and post-dating.) πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Poetry Friday

  1. We had 80 degree weather yesterday…but the night was cold and it is supposed to be cooler today… 😦 I was hoping for some gardening work to get done!!! I loved Bobbi Katz poem…I will have to def. share that next week during poetry workshop. I wrote a spring poem this week.

    Like

  2. We have a day in the 70s too – ahhh at last! Happy Spring! This poem fits our moods exactly.

    I am in with your poetry challenge – a haiku a day at a wrung sponge.

    Like

  3. Oh, it’s dropping to below freezing tonight, and there’s probably going to be at least hail and sleet tomorrow if not snow. I’d like Winter to call it QUITS, definitely.

    Like

Comments are closed.