idea notebooks · slice of life · Slice of Life Story Challenge · writer's notebook · writing workshop

Gearing Up for the Classroom Part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge

sols2Are you planning to host a Slice of Life Story Challenge (SOLSC) in your classroom during the month of March?  If so, here are some basic tools to launch it this-coming Sunday, 3/1/09.

#1) Send home an announcement about the SOLSC this week.  Here’s an example of the one I’m sending home, which looks a lot like the one I sent home last year.

#2) Create a tracking system so you can monitor how many Slices each of your students has written. Click here for an example of the system I created last year, which you can customize.

#3)  Use the logo Ruth created (above) in whatever way you wish.  I’m going to give my kids stickers using the logo.  (Need someone to create stickers for you?  Try Jennifer at MyPaperCrafts.)

#4)  Provide your students with some examples of Slice of Life Stories you’ve written.

If you have any other questions about the implementation of the SOSLC for your classroom, then go to our Challenges Page or leave a comment on this post.  I’ll do my best to respond to all comments left in a timely manner.

12 thoughts on “Gearing Up for the Classroom Part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge

  1. Tomorrow my students take the state writing test and on Thursday I am presenting them with this challenge. I am so excited. I actually invited my whole school to join. Thanks for this great push to live a writer’s life.

    Like

  2. I think I’d host a class-wide challenge. You can always do a round-up of their posts using Mr. Linky and then link us to the round-up at the bottom of your SOLS each day. How does that sound?

    Like

  3. Hi
    I have a question about SOL – is is appropriate to have my 6th graders post theirs? If not, does anyone know of a good place to share for them? They all have their own writing blogs, and I am trying to help them take that next step to finding a broader audience.
    thanks!

    Like

Comments are closed.