Reflective Practice

Gratitudes.

It’s been a long time since I’ve made a list of gratitudes. Isn’t it interesting how embedded in the word gratitude, is almost the word attitude? I’ve found if I make a list of things I’m most thankful for my attitude always improves. So today I’m thankful for:

  • A job that allows me to make a difference in the lives of children.
  • A safe home to return to each day.
  • A house full of small children.
  • Watermelon season is here!
  • Smiles and giggles and hugs.
  • Breakfast with a team of literacy coaches who have an exceptional understanding of both literacy and coaching.
  • Sunshine and Slip-n-Slides.
  • Children’s books.
  • My iPhone.
  • Being “caught-up” with laundry.
  • Summer.

How about you? Will you share your gratitudes in the comments?

4 thoughts on “Gratitudes.

  1. End of the school year always makes me grumpy. Gratitudes is a great way to start the day a different way…

    *my husband who fills in everything I leave out

    *my grown children who call and Skype their mom with their grown-up stories

    *my lab, Holly who loves me even when I am grumpy

    *my job inside my classroom door, especially the kids

    *my continued education

    *the river that greets me when I arrive home

    *any time I can spend outside surrounded by flowers, trees, singing birds, chattering squirrels, and sun!

    Like

  2. Oh, Ruth. Your post makes me feel grateful for:
    * a laughing family
    * animals everywhere
    * four seasons
    * my own teachers
    * my children’s teachers
    * poetry and words
    * popcorn
    * old friends
    * new friends (some I’ve never met – here online!)
    * the sound of rain
    * work I believe in
    * hope

    Like

  3. This is a great idea and a great way to start summer! Here is my list of gratitudes:
    * My supportive husband
    * I will be able to spend the summer with my kids
    * I have a job I love
    * I was able to help the majority of my students to be successful this year, and the ones I couldn’t at least know I tried
    * Good friends & family
    * Picnic Season is here
    * I am almost done with my Master’s

    Like

Comments are closed.