motivation · Slice of Life Story Challenge

Start Thinking About the Classroom SOLSC: Classroom Prizes

Please link up your slice of life story to this post today. As always, be sure to check out other bloggers’ writing by clicking through the links in the comment section of this post. If you’re dropping by to link up quickly today, then please come back later to read through others slicers’ posts.
The Classroom Challenge Button is coming soon!

Everyone wants students to be be intrinsically motivated to write daily. While we can hope our enthusiasm is contagious, sometimes it’s not enough for reluctant writers.  Working with reluctant writers means providing the motivation without threatening low grades.  Creating enthusiasm is hard when a child doesn’t feel s/he has anything to write about.  It’s hard to get kids intrinsically motivated to write when they don’t want to, isn’t it?

Back when I was a f/t classroom teacher, some of my students were completing daily entries in their writer’s notebooks without enthusiasm. They were doing it because it was assigned.  Some simply claimed their lives were too boring and they had little to write about.  Something changed when  I proposed a month-long writing challenge to my kiddos back in February 2008.  When I challenged my fourth graders to write for the entire month of March (in 2008), I knew I had to offer them a little more than a little sticker on a grid of names.  Therefore, I promised students who completed 25 – 31 days of the first-ever Slice of Life Story Challenge writerly gifts.  (Click here to see what they received.)  I also promised to hold a party (with slices of cake, of course) for the students who completed 31 days.  While my first year of the classroom challenge was successful, I don’t think it was because of the prizes I offered.  Rather, it was successful because the level of enthusiasm about sharing stories increased. Morning Meeting share time was devoted to sharing slices of life.  Further, my students were excited to read each other’s writing as soon as they turned-in their homework.  Some students didn’t complete slices for all 31 days, but all of my students’ writing volume and enthusiasm increased as a result of the first SOLSC.

If you’re planning to implement a Slice of Life Story Challenge in your classroom this March, then consider whether or not you want to offer prizes to students who complete a given number of entries in their notebook.  The prizes shouldn’t be lavish.  Rather they should be writing-related.  Or, if prizes aren’t your thing, then consider hosting a special lunch for students who complete the challenge.  This is also a meaningful way to celebrate the hard work that takes place during the Challenge.  (Click here to view some pictures from my second Slice of Life Story Challenge Party.)

Have you led a Slice of Life Classroom Challenge?  If so, have you given prizes to students who completed the Challenge?  What did you do to celebrate the slicers in your class?  If you have decided against prizes, please share how you celebrated with the writers who completed the Challenge.   

3 thoughts on “Start Thinking About the Classroom SOLSC: Classroom Prizes

  1. Last year was my first year to participate. I gave slicers who participated every school day a pencil. Those who wrote some on the weekends got a pencil and a pen. And students who wrote every day in the month of March got the pencil, the pen, and a small composition notebook for capturing thoughts on the go. Parents provided pizza slices and cake for everyone. At the celebration, we had a gallery walk to view each students top four slices. Then we posted those on the hallway bulletin board after the celebration. Here’s a link to the post about our celebration –
    http://pleasuresfromthepage.blogspot.com/2012/04/slices-on-my-mind.html
    and here’s a link to the poem I wrote to mark our special day –
    http://pleasuresfromthepage.blogspot.com/2012/04/forever-in-my-heart.html

    Like

  2. My fourth graders and I participated the past two years. We celebrated writers that completed 30 out of 31 days with a slices of pizza luncheon! Will do this again or maybe have cake instead. 🙂

    Like

  3. Last year I gave my student slicers cute printed sticky notes. I found them in the dollar bins at Target. This was a practical gift since we use them often in feedback circles, but it made them feel special, too.

    Like

Comments are closed.