86 thoughts on “Call for Slices

  1. Inspired by twowritingteachers, I am revamping my blog for pd to upload pd and to be a site to inspire teachers to write in my area – South SF Bay, CA. I will write (and host in the March challenge) but some of that daily posting will be putting presentations on the new site and customizing the blog.
    http://wp.me/p3cml8-fS

    Like

    1. My children are now grown ups , but some of my best memories are of snuggling up to read with the. You have to be in the moment then!

      Like

  2. Dana – I just had to say I wrote my slice, posted it and then scrolled to the top to see what your opening was. O so perfect for my thinking today about Beginners mind. It is what I had been telling my self for the last few days. I need a body of work – years of garden, notebooks of drawing and stories. Thanks for the post. Perfect!

    Like

    1. It sounds like a wonderful experience. As teachers, we have so little time to just talk to each other. I have been curious about these conferences -they call them “unconferences” in NJ. I’m encouraged to try one out.

      Like

      1. No worries, Chris. That reply button is in an odd place. At any rate, please know that you can comment directly on individual blogs as you read them. There is typically a comment box near the bottom of each person’s page. Thanks for reading some Slices today!

        Like

  3. Canceling school for not-a-lot of snow irks me for many reasons. What about the kids who live in underheated homes? What about the kids who rely on the free breakfast and free lunch progrrams to eat? What about the loss of time in classrooms? I know the time is made up in June, but learning in June doesn’t look like the learning that takes place in January.

    So… yesterday, when school was canceled around here for 2″ of snow, I discovered something wonderful about my daughter’s love of school. More on that here:

    Music to My Educator Ears

    Like

      1. Hi Tara, Thank you. I can’t figure out how to make a comment section. I’ve gone through all the areas that make sense to me. Any guidance you can give me would be much appreciated! Thanks again, Mary

        Like

      1. Hi Dana, Thank you. I can’t figure out how to make a comment section. I’ve gone through all the areas that make sense to me. Any guidance you can give me would be much appreciated! Thanks again, Mary

        Like

    1. Michele, I tried to reply to your blog, but couldn’t get it to let me. 😦 I was excited to read about your Mock book awards. I’m so excited for next Monday. I noticed you mentioned the link for the webcast. I haven’t been able to find that yet. Can you share it with me?

      Like

    1. I enjoyed your post -I often am surprised by the useful tidbits of information from long ago that come to mind at just the right moment.

      Like

Comments are closed.